Home > Practices Areas > Litigation > Business & Commercial Litigation
Business & Commercial Litigation
Team Leaders
When your business interests are at stake, you can rely on Whyte Hirschboeck Dudek S.C.'s Business & Commercial Litigation Team to work with you to develop the best strategy to meet your objectives. We understand that opportunity, risk and risk avoidance are part of business. Accordingly, we seek to understand your business and counsel you in view of your business goals. 

Should disputes arise, we possess the instincts, experience and knowledge to resolve them consistent with those goals. In a market filled with talented attorneys, we believe that this approach distinguishes us. We measure our victories by your success.

We have successfully represented our business clients’ interests in federal and state trial and appellate courts throughout the country and before federal and state agencies and national and international arbitrators. We have handled business disputes in a variety of areas, including:
  • Intellectual Property
  • Theft of Trade Secrets
  • Patent, Trademark & Copyright
  • Information Technology & E-Commerce
  • ERISA
  • Tax
  • Franchise and Dealership
  • Products Liability
  • Construction
  • Shareholder Disputes
  • Employment Disputes
  • Condemnation
  • Unfair Competition
  • Antitrust
  • Fraud
  • Environmental, Health & Safety
  • Breach of Warranty and Other Uniform Commercial Code Disputes
  • Breach of Contract

Representative Engagements

  • Represented the State of Wisconsin in its case against the tobacco companies for Medicaid reimbursement and consumer act violations.
  • Represented clients in information technology disputes, including matters involving the Internet and computer network installations working extensively with computer forensic experts.
  • Obtained a seven-figure award in a contract/non-compete arbitration.
  • Represented a major national corporation before the Wisconsin Tax Appeals Commission, Wisconsin trial court, Court of Appeals and Supreme Court and U.S. Supreme Court in a matter involving state tax jurisdiction.
  • Defended construction companies, design professionals and manufacturers of construction materials in cases involving asbestos property damage, groundwater pollution and chemical contamination.
  • Defended financial institutions against lender liability claims and businesses against consumer fraud claims.
  • Obtained and defended against claims for injunctive relief in dealership, intellectual property and non-compete cases.
  • Obtained a seven-figure jury verdict in a commercial landlord/tenant dispute.
  • Prosecuted a dispute brought by a chemical dealer against its supplier for wrongful termination of its dealership.
  • Represented minority shareholders, recovering a 300 percent increase in corporate take-over payments from company insiders.
  • Provided litigation management for manufacturer of automobile repair equipment and managed transition from insured to self-insured program.
  • Represented health care clients in litigation involving construction/interpretation of contracts concerning health care facilities and services.
  • Served as trial counsel and local counsel in intellectual property litigation and proceedings before the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board.
  • Represented securities broker-dealers in covenant not-to-compete, broker recruitment and employment litigation matters in federal and state courts and NASD and NYSE arbitration forums. Team members are also experienced in defending customer com- plaints for alleged violations of federal and state securities laws, including Rule 10b-5 and Wisconsin’s statutory counterpart, and claims of misrepresentation, negligence, and breach of fiduciary duty by securities broker-dealers and their agents.
  • Taken trials to verdict in defense of major manufacturers whose products have included automobiles, motorcycles of virtually all sizes from small off-road bikes to 1500CC cruising bikes, ATVs, construction vehicles such as cranes, and various farm equipment.

Attorneys


Ross A. Anderson
Attorney
Milwaukee Waukesha County
randerson@whdlaw.com

David B. Carr
Attorney
Milwaukee
dcarr@whdlaw.com

Lydia J. Chartre
Attorney
Milwaukee Madison
lchartre@whdlaw.com

Patrick S. Coffey
Attorney
Milwaukee Chicago
pcoffey@whdlaw.com

Melinda S. Giftos
Office Managing Shareholder
Madison
mgiftos@whdlaw.com

Jack Laffey
Attorney
Milwaukee
jlaffey@whdlaw.com

Michael J. Lauer
Attorney
Waukesha County
mlauer@whdlaw.com

Joshua B. Levy
Attorney
Milwaukee
jlevy@whdlaw.com

Jeffrey J. Liotta
Attorney
Waukesha County
jliotta@whdlaw.com

Ann M. Maher
Attorney
Milwaukee
amaher@whdlaw.com

Eric J. Meier
Attorney
Milwaukee
emeier@whdlaw.com

Daniel J. Miske
Attorney
Milwaukee Madison
dmiske@whdlaw.com

Nida Shakir
Attorney
Milwaukee Madison
nshakir@whdlaw.com

Kurt M. Simatic
Attorney
Waukesha County
ksimatic@whdlaw.com